Ronn Dunnett Earns Titanium Association’s 2016 Application Development Award

Friday, September 30th, 2016

dunnett-awardRegina-born musician, designer, and innovator Ronn Dunnett is the recipient of the International Titanium Association’s (ITA) 2016 Application Development Award. The award lauds Dunnett for his work in the development and perfection of a titanium drum shell. Members of the ITA’s executive board presented Dunnett with the award at TITANIUM USA 2016, the 32nd annual international conference and exhibition sponsored and organized by the ITA, which was held Sept. 25-28 at the J. W. Marriott Desert Ridge Golf Resort in Scottsdale, AZ.

“This is my Oscar, my Grammy, my Juno – my lifetime achievement award,” Dunnett says. “But its even more than that. It is the ultimate vindication. My work has never been about anything more than the relentless pursuit of quality sound. Awards, particularly in my industry, are often cynical. To receive the ITA Application Development award – especially from an organization outside of the music industry – that is as real as it gets. Recognition that says ‘You’re the leader, You were the first and the best and who or whatever ever else comes after is derivative.’ It is an award that I am humbled by, but am so proud to accept. I think I have earned it.”


2017 NAMM TEC Awards Nominees Revealed

Tuesday, September 20th, 2016

[Photo: Courtesy NAMM/TEC Awards]

[Photo: Courtesy NAMM/TEC Awards]

The NAMM Foundation has announced  nominees for its 32nd annual NAMM Technical Excellence & Creativity Awards in the categories of Outstanding Technical and Creative Achievement. Stand-up comedian and actor Sinbad will return for his third straight year as host. The NAMM TEC Awards are bestowed annually in celebration of the pro audio community by recognizing the individuals, companies, and technical innovations behind today’s sound recordings, live sound, films, television, and video games.

More than 900 products and projects were considered during the nomination process. This year’s Outstanding Technical Achievement Nominees were chosen across 23 categories and include selections in two new categories: Audio Education Technology and DJ Production Technology – Hardware/Software.


MusiCounts Honours Dozen Exceptional Music Students with Fred Sherratt Award

Tuesday, July 12th, 2016

2016 Fred Sherratt Award recipientsMusiCounts, a Canadian music education charity associated with The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS), has announced its 2016 Fred Sherratt Award recipients who exhibit extraordinary talent, leadership, prowess and potential in the music industry. This year’s celebrations included a visit to Universal Music Canada; a tour of the SOCAN offices, the Bell Media headquarters, and Noble Street Studios; and an industry Music Mixer hosted by The Spoke Club where the recent graduates had access to insight and experience from a range of executive-level music industry professionals in attendance. Award-winning broadcasting pioneer Fred Sherratt was onsite to congratulate the 11 of the 12 recipients present who were selected from post-secondary music programs across the country.


Nominations Now Open for 2017 She Rocks Awards

Tuesday, May 3rd, 2016

She RocksThe Women’s International Music Network (the WiMN) has announced open nominations for its annual She Rocks Awards ceremony honouring women in music, taking place Jan. 20, 2017, in Anaheim, CA during the NAMM Show.

Celebrating its fifth anniversary, the She Rocks Awards have honoured music professionals from all walks of the industry, including guitarist, Jennifer Batten; legendary singer-songwriter, Chaka Khan; multi-platinum artist, Colbie Caillat; Amy Heidemann of chart-topping pop duo, Karmin; Vice President of Brand Marketing at Martin Guitar, Amani Duncan; Executive Director of the NAMM Foundation, Mary Luehrsen, Latin GRAMMY award-winning artist, Gaby Moreno; legendary band The Bangles; iconic percussionist Sheila E.; Leigh Maples and Pamela Cole of Fanny’s House of Music; Experience Hendrix CEO, Janie Hendrix; Executive Vice President and CFO of the Gretsch Company, Dinah Gretsch; and many more.


NAMM Reveals 2016 Top 100 Dealer Awards List

Wednesday, April 27th, 2016

Top100_DealeroftheYear_The National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) has announced the final selections for 2016’s Top 100 Dealer Awards. Now in its sixth year, the Top 100 Dealer Awards spotlight the very best industry retailers who demonstrate exceptional commitment to their stores, neighborhoods and customers, and play an important role in acting as music making ambassadors in their communities.

“The Top 100 Dealer program has certainly grown a bit since it was launched a few years ago. Our retail members who enter the competition are passionate about their businesses and really know how to tell their stories of service to their customers and their communities,” says NAMM President and CEO, Joe Lamond. “In my opinion, we owe a debt of gratitude to all our retail members, through their tireless efforts, they are providing access to music products and services which help to foster the next generation of music makers.”


Submissions Open for NAMM’s Sixth Annual Top 100 Dealer Awards

Tuesday, March 1st, 2016

05 Top 100 DealersNAMM is now accepting submissions for its 2016 Top 100 Dealer Awards, which will be handed out at the Summer NAMM Show in Nashville on June 24, 2016. The awards recognize MI retailers for their various contributions to the industry and applaud excellence and innovation in music products retailing.

“Many members have told us that the NAMM Top 100 Dealer Awards have become one of the most important educational events of the year,” says Joe Lamond, president and CEO of NAMM. “Every NAMM retailer is unique and we can all learn from each other as this event shines the spotlight on the best practices in retailing and raise the bar for the whole industry. It is also a celebration of the fun and creativity that each member brings to their community as we promote our vision of a world where music is an essential part of daily living for everyone.”